PDP wins all 18 LGAs on Edo Council election


The Peoples Democratic Party (PDP) has been declared winner in all 18 Local Government Areas in the Edo State local government election held on Saturday.

The election was held in all the 18 local government areas of the state covering Edo North, Edo Central and Edo South senatorial districts.

Apart from the PDP, other major political parties that participated in the election for Chairmanship and Councillorship of all the wards include the Labour Party, LP, and the All Progressives Congress, APC.

Governor Godwin Obaseki who voted in his polling unit at Emokpae Primary School praised the exercise, saying he believed the Peoples Democratic Party (PDP) would carry the day because “PDP fully mobilized in most of the state.”

Speaking shortly after he voted, Obaseki said “The turnout was very impressive in spite of the rain. There was quite a considerable turnout and it showed interest in the local government election. This means that the political parties did well by going around sensitizing and mobilizing the electorates and the people.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here