US Senate confirms Biden’s Arizona win despite six dissenters

Factual Pursuit of Truth for Progress

By Aiyeku Timothy

The US Senate has confirmed Joe Biden’s Arizona win after the lawmakers returned to the Capitol to continue counting Electoral College votes.

This happened some hours after angry rioters overran the building and sent members of Congress fleeing.

The Senate voted 93-6 to reject the objection to Arizona’s Electoral College votes, the first objection raised, and Congress voted 303-121 to reject it.

Six nay votes came from Trump’s ‘election fraud’ conspiracy theorists: Ted Cruz of Texas, Josh Hawley of Missouri, John Kennedy of Louisiana, Cindy Hyde-smith of Mississippi, Roger Marshall of Kansas, and Tommy Tuberville of Alabama.

GOP lawmakers objected to results from Arizona, a move that prompted each chamber to begin debating the objection separately.

House Speaker Nancy Pelosi vowed to resume the interrupted proceedings on Wednesday evening as Senators returned to the Capitol under heavy guard, carrying with them the certificates of electoral votes that were rescued from rioters.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here