Seychelles, Mauritius excluded from UK, US 14-day travellers quarantine list

Factual Pursuit of Truth for Progress

By Francis Ogwo

The mandatory 14-day quarantine required for air travellers and tourists returning to the United States and United Kingdom will exclude Seychelles and Mauritius, making them the only African countries missing from the list.

According to reports from traveloffpath, as from July 10, overseas holidays and visits to up to 60 countries is now possible for Britons without the need to quarantine for 14 days on return.

The Foreign Office lifted its ban on non-essential travel to nearly all EU countries, British territories such as Bermuda and Gibraltar, and Australia and New Zealand.

Turkey, a popular holiday destination, is also included in the list.
Countries exempted from the 14 day UK travelers quarantine include:
• Antigua and Barbuda
• Aruba
• Australia
• Austria
• Bahamas
• Barbados
• Belgium
• Bonaire,
• Croatia
• Curaçao
• Cyprus
• Czech Republic
• Denmark
• Dominica
• Faroe Islands
• Fiji
• Finland
• France
• French Polynesia
• Germany
• Greece
• Greenland
• Grenada
• Guadeloupe
• Hong Kong
• Hungary
• Iceland
• Italy
• Jamaica
• Japan
• Liechtenstein
• Lithuania
• Luxembourg
• Macau
• Malta
• Mauritius
• Monaco
• Netherlands
• New Caledonia
• New Zealand
• Norway
• Poland
• Réunion
• San Marino
• Serbia
• Seychelles
• Sint Eustatius and Saba
• South Korea
• Spain
• St Barthélemy
• St Kitts and Nevis
• St Lucia
• St Pierre and Miquelon
• Switzerland
• Taiwan
• Trinidad and Tobago
• Turkey
• Vatican City
• Vietnam

The above countries were being defined as official ‘travel corridors’ with the UK, starting on July 10, 2020, with passengers not having to self-isolate/quarantine upon arrival if they travel exclusively to the above nations.

Reports also say the UK Travel Corridor Rules from 10th of July 2020 states you will not have to self-isolate when you arrive in England, if you:

•Are travelling or returning from one of the travel corridor countries
•Have not been to or stopped in a country that’s not on the travel corridor list in the previous 14 days
This applies to all travel to England, by train, ferry, coach, air or any other route.
Further information also revealed that if you have been to or stopped in a country that’s not on the travel corridor list, you will have to self-isolate until 14 days have passed since you left that country.

As a measure of containment of the Covid-19 virus and averting a second wave of infection, from 8 June 2020, most travellers to the UK, including British citizens, will be required to spend 14 days in self-isolation.

A breach of self-isolation will be punishable with a £1,000 fixed penalty notice in England or potential prosecution and unlimited fine.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here